Writeln c_ptr(c_char)

Hi,

chpl version 1.32.0

Can writeln print the value of a c_ptr(c_char) string? The output of the very simple test case below is:

char_ptr wrote >Hello?< to str.
str = 0x7fd5a00119d0

This looks like writeln prints the address of str, not it's value. I'm new to Chapel and just wondering if I'm missing a writeln option.

Thanks

use CTypes;

// chpl -o char_ptr char_ptr.chpl

// List ".o" and ".h" files for all C functions that will be called from Chapel.
require "char_ptr.o", "char_ptr.h", "str_prnt.o", "str_prnt.h";

// List all C functions that will be called from Chapel.
extern proc char_ptr(ref str : c_ptr(c_char)) : void;
extern proc str_prnt(ref str : c_ptr(c_char)) : void;

proc main() {

var str : c_ptr(c_char);

char_ptr(str);
    str_prnt(str);
    writeln("str = ", str);
    }
//
// gcc -c -o char_ptr.o char_ptr.c
#include "char_ptr.h"

void char_ptr(char** str) {

*str = (char*)malloc(32);
    strcpy(*str, "Hello?");
}
// char_ptr.h

#ifndef __EXTERN_C_CHAR_PTR_H
#define __EXTERN_C_CHAR_PTR_H

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>

void char_ptr(char** str);

#endif
//
// gcc -c -o str_prnt.o str_prnt.c
#include "str_prnt.h"

void str_prnt(char** str) {

printf("char_ptr wrote >%s< to str.\n", *str);
}
// str_prnt.h

#ifndef __EXTERN_C_STR_PRNT_H
#define __EXTERN_C_STR_PRNT_H

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>

void str_prnt(char** str);

#endif
1 Like

Hello and welcome to Chapel's discourse!

The behavior you're seeing is expected. writeln prints the value of the pointer, which is just an address. This is the behavior you'd get if you want to print out a C pointer in C with printf("%p", ...).

If you want to print the value stored in the address that pointer points at, you need to dereference it, again similar to what you'd need to do in C. Here's a smaller code that does that using both the .deref() method and accessing the 0th index of the pointer:

use CTypes;

proc main() {