Introduce Yourself!

This topic is designed as a place for people to introduce themselves.

I'm Brad Chamberlain, a founding member of the Chapel project and the technical lead for the project. I work as a master engineer at Hewlett Packard Enterprise and am also an affiliate professor for the University of Washington. When I'm not working on Chapel, I tend to spend my time listening to music, playing euro-style boardgames, or reading.

1 Like

Hi, I’m Lydia Duncan! I’ve been on the Chapel team full time since 2013, and was an intern for the project the summer before that. I care about documentation, scoping, objects, interoperability, education and outreach. When I’m not working on Chapel, I’m playing board games or various flavors of D&D.

2 Likes

I am Vass Litvinov. I work as a Chapel developer at HPE. While I am mostly involved in compiler development, my passion is in programming languages. I am also passionate about hiking and whatever else gets me outdoors.

2 Likes

I’m Ben Albrecht. I have been on the Chapel team at Cray / HPE since 2015 with a focus on developing libraries, applications, and tooling. Outside of working on Chapel, I enjoy running, biking, swimming, climbing, and playing music. My favorite text editor is vim.

1 Like

I am Engin Kayraklioglu. I first used Chapel in 2012. After that, I used it heavily during my Ph.D. between 2013-2019. In 2019, I joined the Chapel team at Cray/HPE. My main interest is distributed memory performance. I like hiking and running. I love metal music and play the electric guitar as a hobby.

2 Likes

Hi, I’m Michael Ferguson. I’ve been working with Chapel since 2009 or so. I’m currently part of the Chapel team at HPE. I’ve worked on many areas of the language and its implementation but I tend to focus these days language and compiler improvements. Some specific areas I’ve worked on are: I/O support, --cache-remote, LLVM support, array memory management, and vectorization.

2 Likes