(2D) Array Storage schemes

)Currently chapel supports row-major (by default) and column-major (by explicit usage).

Chapel also now has support for Sparse storage although I have no experience with it and I believe that this is defined as being in the early prototype stage. I will need to install 1.29 to get experience with this because it seems quite new.

One can also implement other schemes that one can implement oneself such as the use Illiffe vectors, packed, banded, or skyline. What should one consider if doing this to ensure that self-implemented schemes parallelize well in a forall.

I am particularly interested in what I need to consider in the layout along anti-diagonal bands or waves, i.,e. where say the 16 elements of a 4*4 2D 1-offset array would be stored in order of

1  3  6 10 15 21
 2  5  9 14 20 26
 4  8 13 19 25 30
 7 12 18 24 29 33
11 17 23 28 32 35
16 22 27 31 34 36

The name of this ordering, I do not know. I will use it in a Jacobi SVD algorithm shortly and it can be used to help parallelize an SOR algorithm and anything else which demands that the reduction of the (i,j)'th elements demands that (i-1,j) and (i,j-1) are already reduced.

Thanks - Damian

Hi Damian,

I can see trying out a wavefront parallelization where the loop computes the SOR values using anti-diagonal waves, but my intuition is that the overhead of putting the data into that organization wouldn’t be worth it. Do you have some preliminary results that seem to indicate changing the storage to anti-diagonals would improve the performance? Does/Would it better enable using vector loads?

Thanks,

Michelle

PS – I played around with these kinds of wavefront computations a lot in the past (http://dl.acm.org/authorize?N10511) and some more recently, http://cgi.cs.arizona.edu/~mstrout/Papers/Papers19/IJHPCN-paper-Using_the_loop_chain_abstraction_to_schedule_across_loops_in_existing_code.pdf.

I do not have any preliminary results.